Skip to content

Blog

Members Public

⚡️ Logs | November 2022

97 logs -- I cover AI prompting, writing curriculum, marijuana, architecture school, publishing strategies, slang, astral projection, mold, woo, Twitter, re-association, and the bagel store mysteries.

Members Public

✉️ Dean's List #004

AI, Daylight Savings Limbo, Possessions, The Analog Beauty of Surprise, Immortality, and Turning Myself Into an App.

Members Public

⚡️ Logs | October 2022

101 logs -- I cover pseudonyms, exclamation marks, acronyms, editing, the tension of being a teacher that experiments, Fernando Pessoa, doomsday satire, the salary of the world’s top racquetball player, and how writing affects memory.

Members Public

💮 Automatic Intelligence

AI is the machine version of 'automatic writing.' Poets, musicians, and occultists have tapped into this for centuries. Instead of using AI tools with poor UIs, writers should learn to tap into the subconscious.

Members Public

✉️ Dean's List #003

Devils, Twitter Rants, Infinite Funk, The Most Dangerous Writing App, Joan Didion Visualized, and Resurrections On-Demand.

Members Public

🕊 1k Twitter Followers 'Celebration' Rant

New tradition. Every time I hit a Twitter milestone, I'll take out the typewriter and rage-write about social media. If my Tweets are short and valuable, these are long and delirious. It's an exercise in rhyming, phrase variation, and free-association.

Members Public

💪 Cohort 9, Feedback Gym Notes

Every week day I host a one-hour 'Feedback Gym' in Write of Passage. It's an event centered around 1:1 breakout rooms where people read and exchange spoken feedback. It fuses the face-to-face character of live session breakouts with the collaborative spirit of async editing.

Members Public

✉️ Dean's List #002

Typewriters, Sleep Paralysis, Zettlekasten is Crime!, Pseudonyms, Local Pizza

Members Public

⌨️ The Green Machine: Why I Got a Typewriter

Given the sheer volume of left-brained editing I do, I figured I'd go through Cohort 9 with a 1956 typewriter. This thing is an 'anti-editing machine.'

Members Public

✉️ Dean's List #001

Warp-Speed Learning, Bunker Bill, Logs, Blogs, and Yin-Yang Newsletters

Members Public

⚡️ Logs | September 2022

117 logs -- I cover writing, creativity, nuclear paranoia, my neighbor Wilbur Doyle, counter-culture literature, dreams, Fountainhead, batshit crazy takes on Christianity, the mating rituals of slugs, non-sense, notes from an airplane, baseball, algorithm pimps, virtual reality, and more.

Members Public

⚡️ Logs | August 2022

36 logs -- I experiment with bulleted lists running through the day, I also cover inspirations, titles, Hog Island, Maryland, cake, DMT, the universe, dirt, one-way doors, and the role of the writer.

Members Public

🎷 What's in a Kerouac sentence?

Jack Kerouac was a famous writer from 1950's, but he referred to his own practice as "sketching." Like a painter, he'd look around slowly to soak in and reflect on the details. As images and memories bubbled up, he'd scribble them into

Members Public

⛳️ Is Mini Golf better in VR?

For $16, my wife and I got access to two rubber golf clubs, neon balls, and a sequence of 18 amoebic, turfed-up, basically flat holes along the side of Big Finger Boulevard. The stakes were high: loser buys lunch. I kept score with one of those miniature red pencils that

Members Public

✏ When to Get Feedback?

“At what point should I share my essay with editors? Should I ask for feedback as soon as possible, or should I wait until it’s a coherent draft?” Both! The biggest misconception about feedback is that it’s a singular event. You don’t have to write in isolation